Advice to Get Started Duck Hunting #5551104 01/19/15 05:50 AM
P
paullyt13 Offline OP
Green Horn
OP Offline
Green Horn
P
Howdy,

I am currently a college student at Texas A&M and was born and raised in Nacogdoches, Texas. I recently went on my first duck hunt off of the Brazos river(didn't get anything) and became very interested in the sport. Could anyone give me advice on how to get started? (calls, decoys, good places to hunt in East Texas/College Station, etc.) I have a boat I can possibly use and a good Remington 1100 12 gauge. I am going to use the off season to practice calling and to obtain decoys for next year. Being a member of the Corps of Cadets and Aggie Band, I won't have a ton of time early in the season to devote to hunting, but I intend on hunting the latter part of November, most of December, and early January.

I will appreciate any advice!

Thanks,

P.T.

Re: Advice to Get Started Duck Hunting [Re: paullyt13] #5551119 01/19/15 06:42 AM
B
BradyBuck Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
THF Trophy Hunter
B
If you can afford it go on a guided hunt. You will learn a lot by watching them. If you can't or don't want to do that then you'll just have to figure a lot out by trial and error. In my experience duck calling has been by far the most difficult to learn compared to goose, turkey and varmint calling.

A few tips that I could give as someone fairly new to the sport as well would be:

1. Use common sense and be courteous to other hunters.
2. Scout because location is the most important thing.
3. Hide and be still because ducks are not like dove. If they see you they hit the road.
4. Hunt with the wind coming from behind you. Ducks land into the wind.
5. Start off with a dozen or so good decoys then add as you go.
6. IMO the Echo diamond wood is the best starter call for the money. It's a double reed and once you figure out what it means to "use your diaphragm" it's a pretty easy call to blow. After you get confident with that get a good single reed.