Out of state hunting process? #5528303 01/08/15 08:47 PM
G
GenMischief Offline OP
Green Horn
OP Offline
Green Horn
G
Hello Everyone! Thanks for letting me in. smile

I am an Indiana Resident, and have been invited to come back to Texas to hunt hogs. I was at Ft. Hood for years, so I know the area, but I DO NOT know the regs!

I understand that if its a nuisance hog hunt on private property a permit is not required, but I do need to have a recent hunters safety course in Indiana and proof of completion.

What I do NOT know is plethoral!

How do I register that safety course with TX?

Am I on the right track to think I don't have to purchase a waiver if I have an out of state course on the books?

What other expenses should I plan for?

I have been advices to carry a handgun as well when hog hunting, what are the rules about this for out of state hunters?

What am I NOT asking about that I should be?

I have plenty of time on this, so I'm excited, but not in a very big rush. smile

Also, any advice or tips would be appreciated.

Thank you,

-Jim

Re: Out of state hunting process? [Re: GenMischief] #5528603 01/08/15 10:50 PM
S
swmays Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
THF Trophy Hunter
S
http://tpwd.texas.gov/

This will get you started...

Re: Out of state hunting process? [Re: swmays] #5528610 01/08/15 10:53 PM
G
GenMischief Offline OP
Green Horn
OP Offline
Green Horn
G
Did that. Can you address my specific questions?

Re: Out of state hunting process? [Re: GenMischief] #5528728 01/08/15 11:51 PM
H
Hirogen Online Content
Pro Tracker
Online Content
Pro Tracker
H
I am out of state as well and am heading down in March to hog hunt.

As far as I know you need to buy a non-resident hunting licence and bring proof that you took and passed the hunter safety course in your home jurisdiction. I do not believe you have to register the course with Texas as they already have reciprocal agreements in place with other states and provinces.