Forum Stats
60480 Members
45 Forums
476234 Topics
6247249 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#5528303 - 01/08/15 02:47 PM Out of state hunting process?
GenMischief Offline
Green Horn

Hello Everyone! Thanks for letting me in. smile

I am an Indiana Resident, and have been invited to come back to Texas to hunt hogs. I was at Ft. Hood for years, so I know the area, but I DO NOT know the regs!

I understand that if its a nuisance hog hunt on private property a permit is not required, but I do need to have a recent hunters safety course in Indiana and proof of completion.

What I do NOT know is plethoral!

How do I register that safety course with TX?

Am I on the right track to think I don't have to purchase a waiver if I have an out of state course on the books?

What other expenses should I plan for?

I have been advices to carry a handgun as well when hog hunting, what are the rules about this for out of state hunters?

What am I NOT asking about that I should be?

I have plenty of time on this, so I'm excited, but not in a very big rush. smile

Also, any advice or tips would be appreciated.

Thank you,

-Jim

#5528603 - 01/08/15 04:50 PM Re: Out of state hunting process? [Re: GenMischief]
swmays Online   content
THF Trophy Hunter

Loc: Dallas / Hopkins Co.
http://tpwd.texas.gov/

This will get you started...

#5528610 - 01/08/15 04:53 PM Re: Out of state hunting process? [Re: swmays]
GenMischief Offline
Green Horn

Did that. Can you address my specific questions?

#5528728 - 01/08/15 05:51 PM Re: Out of state hunting process? [Re: GenMischief]
Hirogen Offline
Tracker

Loc: Ontario, Grey County
I am out of state as well and am heading down in March to hog hunt.