Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Iowawhitetail2016, CrystalLu, nissan720, Victoria361waterfowler, Teddybearrat
63089 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 84396
stxranchman 52093
RWH24 44568
rifleman 44320
BOBO the Clown 43045
bill oxner 42791
BMD 40628
Big Orn 37484
txshntr 35005
SnakeWrangler 31713
facebook
Forum Stats
63089 Members
46 Forums
443648 Topics
6111985 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Topic Options
#5511516 - 12/31/14 07:09 PM Load test due to new powder lot question...
Deerhunter61 Online   content
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 08/27/08
Posts: 7490
Loc: DFW
Guys,

My last lot was great at 42.0 grains so when I test again how far below and how far above should I test? I run the tests in .3 grain increments in order to discover the right recipe...ugh.

Thanks,

Mel

Top
#5512033 - 12/31/14 10:01 PM Re: Load test due to new powder lot question... [Re: Deerhunter61]
ChadTRG42 Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 09/16/09
Posts: 11932
Loc: Lewisville, TX
Try it .2 above and .2 below and see what you get. It generally is really close. But it depends on the powder. Varget and H4350 can have big swings. I've gained 120 fps with the same powder charge of H4350 in my 260 Rem with H4350. It was so much hotter that I was getting pressure signs with my normal load.
_________________________

Custom and Precision Ammunition!!
www.DallasReloads.com
Type 01 and Type 06 FFL

Top
#5512152 - 12/31/14 11:04 PM Re: Load test due to new powder lot question... [Re: Deerhunter61]
kmon1 Offline
junior

Registered: 09/27/06
Posts: 22470
Loc: Texas
Like Chad said most of the time they are real close and sometimes spot on. I also go .2 step increments but will do .4 and .2 below in addition to the normal load. Measure velocity and adjust accordingly from there. That is if I am near the upper end of the load data.

If I had chosen a load more than one grain below max listed load I just load a few of my normal load and test for group and velocity and adjust from there.

Most of the time if the new powder yields within the extreme spread on velocity of the previous load then accuracy will be very similar. I also do not run out of ammo (good practice if running low on powder to save a few back) so can test normal load combination against new loads so comparing apples to apples.

That is what the guy that a teenager to reload did and I have seen no reason to change, has worked for me for over 35 years.



Edited by kmon1 (12/31/14 11:08 PM)
_________________________
Guidelines / Rules of Conduct
http://www.texashuntingforum.com/rules.htm

RULES for using the TRADING POST
http://texashuntingforum.com/forum/ubbth..._PO#Post6605808

Top
#5512527 - 01/01/15 08:52 AM Re: Load test due to new powder lot question... [Re: Deerhunter61]
Deerhunter61 Online   content
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 08/27/08
Posts: 7490
Loc: DFW
Thanks guys

Top



© 2004-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide