Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
AxisLikeThat, jgthunt, Noak, Mossyballs, win
63508 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 86372
stxranchman 52401
bill oxner 45457
RWH24 44568
rifleman 44349
BOBO the Clown 43369
BMD 40821
Big Orn 37484
txshntr 35138
SnakeWrangler 33978
facebook
Forum Stats
63508 Members
45 Forums
449022 Topics
6203494 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Topic Options
#5447851 - 11/28/14 09:47 PM 300 blackout scope
jhenderson Online   content
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 02/07/10
Posts: 5904
Loc: Lake dallas
Picked up a Remington 700 sps AAC-sd 300 blackout at a smoking deal today. What a good scope for it? Trying to keep it as practical as possible and still be useful to 200 yards. No red dots. Would go with a good higher power scope but this thing is heavy as it is.

Top
#5447861 - 11/28/14 10:04 PM Re: 300 blackout scope [Re: jhenderson]
FiremanJG Online   content
THF Celebrity

Registered: 12/16/08
Posts: 24037
Loc: Wolfe City, TX
_________________________

800 Yard Steel Range
Precision Rifle Instruction
Memberships and Classes Available

Top
#5447873 - 11/28/14 10:10 PM Re: 300 blackout scope [Re: jhenderson]
jhenderson Online   content
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 02/07/10
Posts: 5904
Loc: Lake dallas
Now school me on that reticle. I'm a hunter more than anything so all these reticles are Greek to me. Guns I've got good knowledge. Scopes I don't know enough about. Hence the reason I ask so many scope related questions.

Top
#5448003 - 11/29/14 06:31 AM Re: 300 blackout scope [Re: jhenderson]
firemed13 Offline
Light Foot

Registered: 06/07/14
Posts: 37
Loc: Illinois
I had a Nikon P-300 on my Blackout and really liked it. Not crazy money either, mounted in a Larue mount.

Top
#5448228 - 11/29/14 08:58 AM Re: 300 blackout scope [Re: jhenderson]
FiremanJG Online   content
THF Celebrity

Registered: 12/16/08
Posts: 24037
Loc: Wolfe City, TX
Get your muzzle velocity and BC. Plug those into your ballistic calculator and it will spit out a chart for elevation correction and windage correction in Mils which is what the scope is in. That's the short answer.

I hunted with my SS with HD glass yesterday evening. At 200 yards I could still have made a shot 15 minutes after legal light. I paid close attention to the clock it was exactly 15 minutes when I looked last then packed up and hwaded out. Great light transmission!
_________________________

800 Yard Steel Range
Precision Rifle Instruction
Memberships and Classes Available

Top
#5448334 - 11/29/14 10:37 AM Re: 300 blackout scope [Re: jhenderson]
TX Grubby Online   content
Woodsman

Registered: 01/18/14
Posts: 206
Loc: Rockwall, TX
I just put http://www.vortexoptics.com/product/vort...reticle/reticle on my blackout. hopefully will be out shooting it next week. I hate when life interrupts my fun.

Top
#5448498 - 11/29/14 12:47 PM Re: 300 blackout scope [Re: jhenderson]
TexFlip Online   content
THF Celebrity

Registered: 08/18/12
Posts: 10622
Loc: Chambers County
I have a Bushnell 10x mil/mil on mine.


Edited by TexFlip (11/29/14 12:49 PM)

Top
#5450974 - 12/01/14 09:07 AM Re: 300 blackout scope [Re: jhenderson]
ChadTRG42 Online   happy
THF Celebrity

Registered: 09/16/09
Posts: 12518
Loc: Lewisville, TX
I run the SS 3-9 FFP mil/mil scope on my 300 blk out. It works very well.
_________________________

Custom and Precision Ammunition!!
www.DallasReloads.com
Type 01 and Type 06 FFL

Top
#5466599 - 12/09/14 07:53 AM Re: 300 blackout scope [Re: jhenderson]
westexhunt Offline
Tracker

Registered: 11/05/12
Posts: 898
Loc: San Angelo
Buddy of mine runs a VX-R 4-12 with a CDS dial for supers and another CDS dial for subs. His 6 year old son has been knocking pigs down with it, he put the 700 rifle in a chassis system that uses AR stocks for an adjustable length of pull. I put a redfield battlezone on mine cause thats what I had, great quality scope for the money but it uses mil reticle and moa adjustments so its pretty useless for dialing, I just hold over with the mil hash marks.


Edited by westexhunt (12/09/14 07:55 AM)

Top
#5477018 - 12/14/14 08:27 PM Re: 300 blackout scope [Re: ChadTRG42]
okstatefan Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 01/26/13
Posts: 1011
Loc: Forney, TX


Originally Posted By: ChadTRG42
I run the SS 3-9 FFP mil/mil scope on my 300 blk out. It works very well.


Same setup here.

Top



© 2004-2018 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide