Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Hackertrap, mkk, RoberLaughlin, htxhunter34, J-Rod
61536 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 80562
stxranchman 52092
RWH24 44568
rifleman 44029
BOBO the Clown 41814
BMD 40598
Big Orn 37484
bill oxner 36709
txshntr 34217
sig226fan (Rguns.com) 31086
facebook
Forum Stats
61536 Members
46 Forums
423017 Topics
5839812 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Topic Options
#5447851 - 11/28/14 09:47 PM 300 blackout scope
jhenderson Online   content
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 02/07/10
Posts: 5601
Loc: The colony
Picked up a Remington 700 sps AAC-sd 300 blackout at a smoking deal today. What a good scope for it? Trying to keep it as practical as possible and still be useful to 200 yards. No red dots. Would go with a good higher power scope but this thing is heavy as it is.

Top
#5447861 - 11/28/14 10:04 PM Re: 300 blackout scope [Re: jhenderson]
FiremanJG Online   content
THF Celebrity

Registered: 12/16/08
Posts: 19560
Loc: Wolfe City, TX
_________________________


800 Yard Steel Rifle Range
Long Range Shooting Instruction
Memberships and Classes Available


Top
#5447873 - 11/28/14 10:10 PM Re: 300 blackout scope [Re: jhenderson]
jhenderson Online   content
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 02/07/10
Posts: 5601
Loc: The colony
Now school me on that reticle. I'm a hunter more than anything so all these reticles are Greek to me. Guns I've got good knowledge. Scopes I don't know enough about. Hence the reason I ask so many scope related questions.

Top
#5448003 - 11/29/14 06:31 AM Re: 300 blackout scope [Re: jhenderson]
firemed13 Offline
Light Foot

Registered: 06/07/14
Posts: 36
Loc: Illinois
I had a Nikon P-300 on my Blackout and really liked it. Not crazy money either, mounted in a Larue mount.

Top
#5448228 - 11/29/14 08:58 AM Re: 300 blackout scope [Re: jhenderson]
FiremanJG Online   content
THF Celebrity

Registered: 12/16/08
Posts: 19560
Loc: Wolfe City, TX
Get your muzzle velocity and BC. Plug those into your ballistic calculator and it will spit out a chart for elevation correction and windage correction in Mils which is what the scope is in. That's the short answer.

I hunted with my SS with HD glass yesterday evening. At 200 yards I could still have made a shot 15 minutes after legal light. I paid close attention to the clock it was exactly 15 minutes when I looked last then packed up and hwaded out. Great light transmission!
_________________________


800 Yard Steel Rifle Range
Long Range Shooting Instruction
Memberships and Classes Available


Top
#5448334 - 11/29/14 10:37 AM Re: 300 blackout scope [Re: jhenderson]
TX Grubby Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 01/18/14
Posts: 167
Loc: Rockwall, TX
I just put http://www.vortexoptics.com/product/vort...reticle/reticle on my blackout. hopefully will be out shooting it next week. I hate when life interrupts my fun.

Top
#5448498 - 11/29/14 12:47 PM Re: 300 blackout scope [Re: jhenderson]
TexFlip Online   content
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 08/18/12
Posts: 9397
Loc: Chambers County
I have a Bushnell 10x mil/mil on mine.


Edited by TexFlip (11/29/14 12:49 PM)
_________________________

Top
#5450974 - 12/01/14 09:07 AM Re: 300 blackout scope [Re: jhenderson]
ChadTRG42 Online   happy
THF Celebrity

Registered: 09/16/09
Posts: 10344
Loc: Lewisville, TX
I run the SS 3-9 FFP mil/mil scope on my 300 blk out. It works very well.
_________________________

www.DallasReloads.com
Type 01 and Type 06 FFL

Top
#5466599 - 12/09/14 07:53 AM Re: 300 blackout scope [Re: jhenderson]
westexhunt Offline
Tracker

Registered: 11/05/12
Posts: 892
Loc: San Angelo
Buddy of mine runs a VX-R 4-12 with a CDS dial for supers and another CDS dial for subs. His 6 year old son has been knocking pigs down with it, he put the 700 rifle in a chassis system that uses AR stocks for an adjustable length of pull. I put a redfield battlezone on mine cause thats what I had, great quality scope for the money but it uses mil reticle and moa adjustments so its pretty useless for dialing, I just hold over with the mil hash marks.


Edited by westexhunt (12/09/14 07:55 AM)

Top
#5477018 - 12/14/14 08:27 PM Re: 300 blackout scope [Re: ChadTRG42]
okstatefan Online   content
Tracker

Registered: 01/26/13
Posts: 907
Loc: Forney, TX


Originally Posted By: ChadTRG42
I run the SS 3-9 FFP mil/mil scope on my 300 blk out. It works very well.


Same setup here.

Top



© 2004-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide