Forum Statistics
Forums46
Topics537,760
Posts9,728,816
Members87,039
Most Online25,604
Feb 12th, 2024
Print Thread
Word of advice for guides seeking corporate hunters (and money) #5420747 11/14/14 07:16 PM
FLParish Offline OP
Woodsman
OP Offline
Woodsman
Let me preface this by saying that I am fairly new to duck hunting, but have grown up in and around hunting since I was a kid, just never duck hunting.

Now that I am getting towards the middle part of my life, and work for a gigantic corporation, I have access to more funds now and am able to take clients hunting, which means money to spend on clubs/guides/etc.

That being said, many of you guides are missing the mark with regard to your attitude and educating your clientele on using your services.

If I pay you $3500 for a season of duck hunting for 4 people, and am only getting to use this membership maybe 5 times, that's pretty darn good money, no matter if I bring 1 extra person or have 5 hunters with me.

If you need to have a certain number of hunters to make a hunt, you need to make us aware of that, beforehand. We might be empathetic towards your cause, if we're aware of it.

Don't ever call your corporate customer, in this case, me, and tell me that I'm screwing you over because I only brought one guest for a hunt and you could have used that hole for another group of hunters, on a Friday morning, and now have to dig out of your own pocket to pay a guide. Not my problem, especially if you don't explain that to us (me) beforehand. Don't assume we know the "rules" you have in play.

Oh, and get rid of your attitude. We (I) don't pay you money to talk down to us or our guests. Us corporate guys know how to make sure that other corporate hunters don't use you in the future, especially if you try screwing us over.

If you don't want to deal with us corporate hunting type, then don't try and sell your services to us and stick to the individual hunters, if that's more your style.