Print Thread
bluetick breader ? #5417373 11/13/14 10:56 AM
D
davvy Offline OP
Woodsman
OP Offline
Woodsman
D
sadly I lost my best friend a few months ago and my wife and I decided it's time for a new puppy to fill that hole. I instantly know what I want, a dark somewhat smaller bluetick . The problem being that I'm still somewhat new to Texas and haven't had the opportunity to meet many other houndsmen. Also I have looked online and through Craigslist but can't seem to find any breeders with the type of stock im looking for and that seam even remotely reputable or trustworthy. Is there a starting place anyone can give me or is Texas just the wrong place to look for hounds?

Re: bluetick breader ? [Re: davvy] #5417896 11/13/14 04:25 PM
Keechi Kid Offline
Woodsman
Woodsman
I'm sure there are a few good traditional type hound breeders around, but I don't believe they will be particularly easy to find. The old school coon hounds have given way around here with the falling popularity of coon hunting due to the rising popularity of hog hunting. The guys that would have gotten into running coon hounds years ago are the same guys running pigs instead now.

Re: bluetick breader ? [Re: davvy] #5418073 11/13/14 05:33 PM
G
gary roberson Offline
Veteran Tracker
Veteran Tracker
G
I breed blueticks and hunt coon and a few bobcats around Menard County where I live and lion out west. I breed the smaller blueticks females in the 50 pound range and males around 60. My dogs are very athletic, shorter eared than the old style blues...built to run and have a lot of stamina.
I don't breed for color, some of my dogs are open ticked and others are extremely dark; I breed for performance. I don't raise dogs for a living so I don't breed a female very often. I breed them to keep me and a few buddies that are genuinely hunter in hounds. I don't have any pups and not sure if I will breed a female this year or not.