Page 1 of 2 1 2
Jealous lease member #5413264 11/11/14 05:20 PM
L
LarryCopper Offline OP
THF Trophy Hunter
OP Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
L
This is my first year on a small hill country place. My brother and neighbor are on it with me and we were all down for opening weekend. Last Sat afternoon I found out what it felt like to be bipolar. A young 10 pt came in and hung around for half an hour. What confused me is that I'm new to hill country deer. I've always heard they're not as big. So I didn't know if he was just a young buck with a big rack or that was just as good as it gets. When he first walked out I thought he was definitely a shooter. Then he would put his head down and I'd think... ehhhh, his body doesn't look very mature. He'd pick his head up and I'd go back to thinking shooter. Went back and forth the whole time. But in the end I know I did the right thing letting him walk. More than likely a blessed 2.5 year old.

So I get back to camp having a cold one and told them what I saw. The neighbor tells me that out there 10s are pretty rare, the property owner says all he has ever seen is 8s. He goes on to say he would have taken the buck. OK, I understand where he's coming from. No biggie to me and I'd be glad if he did get that chance.

Last weekend only me and my brother can get out there. I brought my son to try to take a spike, too. Friday evening my brother took that same 10 point we talked about. The next afternoon I found the one I was looking for. No doubt when he stepped out, big body and wide 8 point.

My boy got lucky Sun morning and took out his antelope.

I texted the neighbor to let him know how great the weekend went. No reply. It turns out he is all butt hurt cuz he won't have a chance at either of the bucks we took. confused2