Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
TammyNTerlingua, markusarealuis, nh4444, grandy_3, aggiejon
60831 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 78618
stxranchman 52092
RWH24 44568
rifleman 43880
BOBO the Clown 41230
BMD 40575
Big Orn 37484
txshntr 33983
bill oxner 33635
sig226fan (Rguns.com) 30806
facebook
Forum Stats
60831 Members
45 Forums
412780 Topics
5749941 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Topic Options
#5409247 - 11/09/14 06:58 PM Need advice - issue with primer in 300 Savage reloads - 1st time reloading
Chris & Zale Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 08/23/11
Posts: 163
Loc: Pearland, Tx
Hey Guys

After much research, study and practice- I've finished my 1st batch of 300 Savage re-reloads...But...

Primers look funny after shooting



The three on the left are factory Remington Core-Lokt 150 gn. rounds

The two on the right are my reloads

All shot fron 1930's "G" model 99 - all shot were very accurate...

Used Reloader-15 with Rx Used - all power charges were measured one at a time....

"Hornady's 8th edition lists Reloader 15 with a 150 grain SST in the 300 Savage
with a starting charge of 37.2 gr. @2300 FPS to a maximum load of 43.1 grains @ 2700 FPS."

Bullet 150gn Nosler Ballstic Tip

Remington Primer

Reloader 15 - 37.5 gn

Trim length: 1.860

COL: 2.600

Is this an issue with primer - this is my first batch to reloading !! so go easy on me...

Is 37.5 gn of Reloader 15 too hot....


Thanks Guys

Chris
_________________________
Chris Bush
I can be found at "BlueWater Fishing Tactics"
www.fishintech.com

Top
#5409264 - 11/09/14 07:11 PM Re: Need advice - issue with primer in 300 Savage reloads - 1st time reloading [Re: Chris & Zale]
FiremanJG Online   content
THF Celebrity

Registered: 12/16/08
Posts: 18092
Loc: Wolfe City, TX
Just a bit of flow back on the primer. My 308 and 260 did it every shot. Your load is a bit hotter than the factory stuff. I don't see an extractor mark so rock on.
_________________________


800 Yard Steel Rifle Range
Long Range Shooting Instruction
Memberships and Classes Available


Top
#5409374 - 11/09/14 08:00 PM Re: Need advice - issue with primer in 300 Savage reloads - 1st time reloading [Re: FiremanJG]
Tactical Cowboy Online   content
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 08/23/11
Posts: 2940
Loc: Abilene
Originally Posted By: FiremanJG
Just a bit of flow back on the primer. My 308 and 260 did it every shot. Your load is a bit hotter than the factory stuff. I don't see an extractor mark so rock on.

Yup, or lessen your charge a bit.
_________________________
The secret to a long life is to try not to shorten it

Top
#5410043 - 11/10/14 07:59 AM Re: Need advice - issue with primer in 300 Savage reloads - 1st time reloading [Re: FiremanJG]
ChadTRG42 Offline
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 09/16/09
Posts: 9668
Loc: Lewisville, TX
Originally Posted By: FiremanJG
Just a bit of flow back on the primer. My 308 and 260 did it every shot. Your load is a bit hotter than the factory stuff. I don't see an extractor mark so rock on.

This. I would not run a max load in the 99 rifle. It's not built to handle higher pressure rounds.
_________________________

www.DallasReloads.com
Type 01 and Type 06 FFL

Top
#5413608 - 11/11/14 02:12 PM Re: Need advice - issue with primer in 300 Savage reloads - 1st time reloading [Re: Chris & Zale]
Ranch Dog Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 07/15/05
Posts: 1114
Loc: Cuero
I'm a 300 Savage bolt gun shooter and agree with the others. Shoot'm!

Top
#5418954 - 11/13/14 06:08 PM Re: Need advice - issue with primer in 300 Savage reloads - 1st time reloading [Re: Chris & Zale]
mikey1313 Offline
Tracker

Registered: 01/30/12
Posts: 659
Loc: Crandall tx
Primer bulging is a sign of high pressure. If that is first batch I would start working down from there in .5 gr increments till you groups get either tighter or looser and keep all your load data with group pattern. When you find tightest group work with that group in smaller increments till your group is as tight as possible.
_________________________
Isn't it funny how day by day nothing changes but when you look back everything is different.

Nowadays people know the price of everything and the value of nothing.

Top
#5419042 - 11/13/14 07:06 PM Re: Need advice - issue with primer in 300 Savage reloads - 1st time reloading [Re: Chris & Zale]
jeffbird Online   content


Registered: 03/09/09
Posts: 1756
The factory ammo is unusually low pressure so that the firing pin indention looks just like it was pushed in.

On your loads, check to make sure the bullets are not making contact with the lands.

Load a bullet into an empty case with no primer.

Hold the bullet over a kitchen match so that the bullet is covered in soot.

Gently place it in the chamber and close the action.

Gently extract it, and look for marks made by the lands (rifling).

They will appear as small square at regular intervals around the bullet at the ogive.

The ogive is where the curve of the bullet straightens out into the flat length of the body of the bullet.

You do not want the bullets jamming into the rifling as that causes a pressure spike early in the timeline.

If you need help, post a picture of the bullet with soot after extraction.

Top
#5419311 - 11/13/14 08:53 PM Re: Need advice - issue with primer in 300 Savage reloads - 1st time reloading [Re: Chris & Zale]
Chris & Zale Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 08/23/11
Posts: 163
Loc: Pearland, Tx
Wow
Guy thanks for all the input

I can't really leasen the charge as I'm only .2 gns over the minimum..

The consensus is the primers are too soft, I have pushed the shoulder back too far while resizing and opened the headspace or have seated the bullet too far forewrd into the chamber and the bullet is contacting the lands....

So - I'm going to

1) Reload a couple with CCI primers with an unchanged sizing die...
2) Back off the resizing die and reload a couple with the original (remington) primers
3) Use Jeffbird's suggestion for checking bullet seating depth...

I will keep yall posted...

Thanks again

chris
_________________________
Chris Bush
I can be found at "BlueWater Fishing Tactics"
www.fishintech.com

Top
#5420379 - 11/14/14 10:19 AM Re: Need advice - issue with primer in 300 Savage reloads - 1st time reloading [Re: Chris & Zale]
jeffbird Online   content


Registered: 03/09/09
Posts: 1756
Chris,

I concur with also checking the die set-up to see if it is setting the shoulder back too much, thereby creating excessive headspace.

If you do not already have a headspace gauge, I strongly encourage you to buy one.

Use fired brass to adjust the die down until the shoulder is set back 0.0015" - 0.003" max.

This one by Hornady works well.

http://www.midwayusa.com/product/479704/...with-comparator

Top
#5427091 - 11/17/14 05:20 PM Re: Need advice - issue with primer in 300 Savage reloads - 1st time reloading [Re: jeffbird]
colt45 Offline
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 08/19/06
Posts: 5564
Loc: bastrop county
Originally Posted By: jeffbird
Chris,

I concur with also checking the die set-up to see if it is setting the shoulder back too much, thereby creating excessive headspace.

If you do not already have a headspace gauge, I strongly encourage you to buy one.

Use fired brass to adjust the die down until the shoulder is set back 0.0015" - 0.003" max.

This one by Hornady works well.

http://www.midwayusa.com/product/479704/...with-comparator
good info
_________________________
hold on Newt, we got a runaway

Top



© 2004-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide