Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Chris Van Bramer, Windmill Ranch, Jpark68, DuckDogTrainer, David Clay
61112 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 79374
stxranchman 52092
RWH24 44568
rifleman 43940
BOBO the Clown 41385
BMD 40578
Big Orn 37484
bill oxner 34534
txshntr 34079
sig226fan (Rguns.com) 30942
facebook
Forum Stats
61112 Members
46 Forums
416205 Topics
5752180 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Topic Options
#5402255 - 11/06/14 06:46 AM Anyone else pull down factory rounds to reload to your specs?
possom813 Online   content
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 09/07/09
Posts: 2163
Loc: Cayuga
Just curious if I was the only one that did this?

I don't do it very much, but I have done it, mostly on 7.62x54 factory ammo.
_________________________
I will fear no evil, for thou art with me.

Top
#5402293 - 11/06/14 07:22 AM Re: Anyone else pull down factory rounds to reload to your specs? [Re: possom813]
dee Offline
Extreme Tracker

Registered: 04/10/10
Posts: 4738
Loc: Red River way
I typically just load my own from the start.
_________________________
"A vote is like a rifle; it's usefulness depends on the character of the user" Theodore Roosevelt

Top
#5402335 - 11/06/14 07:41 AM Re: Anyone else pull down factory rounds to reload to your specs? [Re: possom813]
possom813 Online   content
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 09/07/09
Posts: 2163
Loc: Cayuga
Just something I was thinking about this morning. I pulled down some herter's 7.62x54 from cabelas and dumped the powder for my load last year.

And then I was pondering about mexican match ammo...
_________________________
I will fear no evil, for thou art with me.

Top
#5402413 - 11/06/14 08:23 AM Re: Anyone else pull down factory rounds to reload to your specs? [Re: possom813]
FiremanJG Online   content
THF Celebrity

Registered: 12/16/08
Posts: 18345
Loc: Wolfe City, TX
I buy new brass, powder, primers, and bullets and start from scratch.

But with a military cartridge like what you're using I can see the need to pull ammo apart and reload it becasue of the lack of brass availability.
_________________________


800 Yard Steel Rifle Range
Long Range Shooting Instruction
Memberships and Classes Available


Top
#5402460 - 11/06/14 08:45 AM Re: Anyone else pull down factory rounds to reload to your specs? [Re: possom813]
tth_40 Online   content
THF Celebrity

Registered: 04/05/10
Posts: 13823
Loc: North Texas.
I used to pull down Mil-Surp ammo all the time. 7.62x54r especially. Lots of split case necks once you got that ancient ammo unpackaged. Once you get it in decent brass with a boxer primer and even out the powder charges, the ol' Nagant got a LOT more consistent. Besides, Czech 147 grain '54r light ball bullets with the concave bases are amazing out of any Lee-Enfield .303 Brit. grin
_________________________
Originally Posted By: theserxtremedays
Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large numbers

Top
#5403272 - 11/06/14 01:48 PM Re: Anyone else pull down factory rounds to reload to your specs? [Re: possom813]
redchevy Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 10/25/04
Posts: 24170
Loc: Texas
For a new gun I usually buy a couple boxes of cheaper factory ammo I don't mind using and wont mind keeping the brass from. Use the factory ammo to get a couple rounds down the barrel and hunt them as long as they last then give the gun and brass a good cleaning and prep and start on handloads. Brass has gotten expensive.
_________________________
It's hell eatin em live

Top
#5403602 - 11/06/14 04:30 PM Re: Anyone else pull down factory rounds to reload to your specs? [Re: redchevy]
colt45 Offline
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 08/19/06
Posts: 5639
Loc: bastrop county
Originally Posted By: redchevy
For a new gun I usually buy a couple boxes of cheaper factory ammo I don't mind using and wont mind keeping the brass from. Use the factory ammo to get a couple rounds down the barrel and hunt them as long as they last then give the gun and brass a good cleaning and prep and start on handloads. Brass has gotten expensive.
exactly, new gun, if I have any factory brass that's what I use to get a few rounds down the barrel
_________________________
hold on Newt, we got a runaway

Top
#5404481 - 11/07/14 05:47 AM Re: Anyone else pull down factory rounds to reload to your specs? [Re: possom813]
kmon1 Offline
junior

Registered: 09/27/06
Posts: 20713
Loc: Texas
Have done it some but not in a while.
_________________________
Guidelines / Rules of Conduct
http://www.texashuntingforum.com/rules.htm

RULES for using the TRADING POST
http://www.texashuntingforum.com/forum/u..._PO#Post1959111

Top



© 2004-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide