Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Zeb B, hillcountryredraider, duckbrx, yodasheet, Harddr672
60446 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 77389
stxranchman 52092
RWH24 44568
rifleman 43783
BOBO the Clown 41089
BMD 40539
Big Orn 37484
txshntr 33684
bill oxner 32633
sig226fan (Rguns.com) 30570
facebook
Forum Stats
60446 Members
45 Forums
475856 Topics
6242536 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Topic Options
#5402255 - 11/06/14 06:46 AM Anyone else pull down factory rounds to reload to your specs?
possom813 Offline
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 09/07/09
Posts: 2124
Loc: Cayuga
Just curious if I was the only one that did this?

I don't do it very much, but I have done it, mostly on 7.62x54 factory ammo.
_________________________
I will fear no evil, for thou art with me.

Top
#5402293 - 11/06/14 07:22 AM Re: Anyone else pull down factory rounds to reload to your specs? [Re: possom813]
dee Offline
Extreme Tracker

Registered: 04/10/10
Posts: 4664
Loc: Red River way
I typically just load my own from the start.
_________________________
"A vote is like a rifle; it's usefulness depends on the character of the user" Theodore Roosevelt

Top
#5402335 - 11/06/14 07:41 AM Re: Anyone else pull down factory rounds to reload to your specs? [Re: possom813]
possom813 Offline
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 09/07/09
Posts: 2124
Loc: Cayuga
Just something I was thinking about this morning. I pulled down some herter's 7.62x54 from cabelas and dumped the powder for my load last year.

And then I was pondering about mexican match ammo...
_________________________
I will fear no evil, for thou art with me.

Top
#5402413 - 11/06/14 08:23 AM Re: Anyone else pull down factory rounds to reload to your specs? [Re: possom813]
FiremanJG Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 12/16/08
Posts: 17893
Loc: Wolfe City, TX
I buy new brass, powder, primers, and bullets and start from scratch.

But with a military cartridge like what you're using I can see the need to pull ammo apart and reload it becasue of the lack of brass availability.
_________________________


800 Yard Steel Rifle Range
Long Range Shooting Instruction
Memberships and Classes Available


Top
#5402460 - 11/06/14 08:45 AM Re: Anyone else pull down factory rounds to reload to your specs? [Re: possom813]
tth_40 Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 04/05/10
Posts: 13736
Loc: North Texas.
I used to pull down Mil-Surp ammo all the time. 7.62x54r especially. Lots of split case necks once you got that ancient ammo unpackaged. Once you get it in decent brass with a boxer primer and even out the powder charges, the ol' Nagant got a LOT more consistent. Besides, Czech 147 grain '54r light ball bullets with the concave bases are amazing out of any Lee-Enfield .303 Brit. grin
_________________________
Originally Posted By: theserxtremedays
Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large numbers

Top
#5403272 - 11/06/14 01:48 PM Re: Anyone else pull down factory rounds to reload to your specs? [Re: possom813]
redchevy Online   content
THF Celebrity

Registered: 10/25/04
Posts: 23413
Loc: Texas
For a new gun I usually buy a couple boxes of cheaper factory ammo I don't mind using and wont mind keeping the brass from. Use the factory ammo to get a couple rounds down the barrel and hunt them as long as they last then give the gun and brass a good cleaning and prep and start on handloads. Brass has gotten expensive.
_________________________
It's hell eatin em live

Top
#5403602 - 11/06/14 04:30 PM Re: Anyone else pull down factory rounds to reload to your specs? [Re: redchevy]
colt45 Online   content
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 08/19/06
Posts: 5390
Loc: bastrop county
Originally Posted By: redchevy
For a new gun I usually buy a couple boxes of cheaper factory ammo I don't mind using and wont mind keeping the brass from. Use the factory ammo to get a couple rounds down the barrel and hunt them as long as they last then give the gun and brass a good cleaning and prep and start on handloads. Brass has gotten expensive.
exactly, new gun, if I have any factory brass that's what I use to get a few rounds down the barrel
_________________________
hold on Newt, we got a runaway

Top
#5404481 - 11/07/14 05:47 AM Re: Anyone else pull down factory rounds to reload to your specs? [Re: possom813]
kmon1 Online   content
junior

Registered: 09/27/06
Posts: 20290
Loc: Texas
Have done it some but not in a while.
_________________________
Guidelines / Rules of Conduct
http://www.texashuntingforum.com/rules.htm

RULES for using the TRADING POST
http://www.texashuntingforum.com/forum/u..._PO#Post1959111

Top



© 2004-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide